Social Science Division


Norton Social Science Building

The Social Science Division offers courses in a wide variety of fields including Child Development, Criminal Justice, Economics, History, Political Science, Psychology and Sociology. Courses meet prerequisite requirements for transfer to four year institutions. In addition to transfer credit, the Child Development program has stand-alone certificate and degree programs that help prepare students for the work force.

All course offerings within the division offer classes in multiple formats including on campus day and evening courses as well as online. The Child Development program offers all of its coursework online.

For a complete list of course offerings in this division, please click here.

For a list of course offerings and program description of the Child Development Program, click here. CHD program and certificate course development.

For a list of other Programs of Study within the Social Science Division, please click here.


Social Science Division Contact Information


Alan Bates
Psychology Instructor
Division Director, Social Sciences Division
Phone: (256) 840-4129
Email: abates@snead.edu
Office: Norton 110

Instructors


Dr. Mark Freshwater
History Instructor
Phone: (256) 840-4169
Email: mfreshwater@snead.edu
Office: Norton 104


Paul Gore
Criminal Justice Instructor
Phone: (256) 840-4167
Email: pgore@snead.edu
Office: Elder Hall 104S


Meredith Jackson
Economics Instructor
Phone: (256) 840-4163
Email: mjackson@snead.edu
Office: Weathers Business
Building 102S 
 
   

Grover Kitchens
History and Political Science Instructor
Phone: (256) 840-4162
Email: gkitchens@snead.edu  
Office: Norton 123

Matt Smart
Sociology Instructor
Phone: (256) 840-6615
Email: msmart@snead.edu  
Office: English Building 102


Dr. Karen Watts
Child Development Coordinator and Instructor
Phone: (256) 840-4193
Email: kwatts@snead.edu
Office: Norton 103
 
   

Dr. Tommy Turner
Psychology Instructor
Email: tturner@snead.edu