Snead State Presents Scholarships to 2020 Alabama Youth Tour Winners


Snead State Community College recently presented one-year full tuition scholarships to the winners of the first round of the Alabama Youth Tour Competition, sponsored by Marshall-DeKalb Electric Cooperative. 

The competition requires students to submit an essay and participate in an interview process prior to selection for the scholarship. All of the participants will be included in an Alabama Youth Tour trip to Montgomery, and their participation and conduct on that trip will factor into the final selection of four students to be taken to Washington D.C. this summer.

Students participating in the competition included Bayron Amaya of Crossville, Erika Aragon of Douglas, Alyssa Cook of Geraldine, Chloe Cooley of Boaz, Dessa Faulkner of Geraldine, Jazmine Mullinax of Crossville, and Natasha Snell of Albertville.

On Friday, Jan. 24, the students participated in the interview process with Snead State Community College employees, who tallied the results of the interview and the essay to choose the four scholarship recipients. On behalf of Snead State President Dr. Robert Exley, Chief Financial Officer Joe Whitmore presented the scholarships to Bayron Amaya, Alyssa Cook, Dessa Faulkner, and Natasha Snell. The students will be able to use the scholarships once they’ve graduated from high school.

Students must be juniors in high school to participate in the program. The winners will travel with winners from other cooperative areas in the state to Washington, D.C. this summer. 

PHOTO CAPTION: Participants of the 2020 Alabama Youth Tour competition, sponsored by Marshall-DeKalb Electric Cooperative, to receive a scholarship to Snead State Community College were, from left, Bayron Amaya, Natasha Snell, Dessa Faulkner, and Alyssa Cook.

Back to News Listing