Snead State Community College Students Honored for Their Achievements


Snead State Community College highlighted the end of the Spring semester with special recognition of student achievements. Students were honored during the annual Awards Day ceremony at Snead State Community College on Thursday, April 25.

Snead State Community College President   Dr. Robert Exley presented the President’s Awards to a student majoring in an academic field and a student pursuing a technical field of study. The Academic Award went to Cory M. Johnson of Arab, and the Technical Award went to Benjamin L. Anstandig of Arab.

The Dean’s Award, presented by Vice President for Student Services Jason Cannon, was given to Savannah Combs of Owens Cross Roads in the academic field of study and Natasha Kelley of Opelika in the technical field of study.

Other award recipients included:

  • Accounting – Katelyn Drain of Crossville and Celeste Collier of Guntersville.
  • Agricultural Science – Kaitlyn Williams of Boaz.
  • All-Alabama Academic Team members – Abby Williams of Crossville and Hannah Black of Joppa.
  • Applied Business – Bailey Boman of Boaz.
  • Business (Transfer Program) – Jacob Rich of Hoover.
  • Computer Science – Chris Terrell of Albertville.
  • Economics – Shelby Brothers of Geraldine.
  • English – Angela Barajas-Salcido of Boaz.
  • History – Jamie Whitten of Boaz.
  • Mathematics – Sophomore Award: Cody Parris of Fyffe. Freshman Award: Griffin Johnson of Huntsville.
  • Music – Best All Around Music Student: Kyle Adams of Boaz and Most Improved Musician: Tyler Myers of Boaz.
  • Nursing – Highest GPA in First Level RN: Melody Baker of Horton; Highest GPA in Second Level RN: Peighton Ponder of Albertville; Clinical Excellence First Level: Craig Andrews of Fyffe; and Clinical Excellence Second Level: Diana Kelley of Albertville.
  • Political Science – Timothy Handley of Albertville.
Some students continuing their education at other institutions were awarded scholarships. The scholarship recipients included: 
  • Athens State University – Ginny Hester of Boaz; Gracie Box of Altoona; Banesa Ramirez-Alcantar of Albertville; Bailey Maynard of Boaz; Ashley Griggs of Union Grove; Daniel Pee of Boaz; Amy Banks of Dawson; Michael Scroggins of Bessemer; Ashton Willmore of Boaz; Grace Duke of Boaz; Nathan Smith of Arab; Harley Bobo of Rainsville; Jerica Snead of Boaz; and Maria Cruz of Oneonta.
  • Auburn University – Alex Bennefield of Joppa; Uriel Franco of Albertville; Levi Maness of Dawson; Linh Truc Nguyen of Arab; John Strickland of Boaz; Caelyn Wigley of Boaz; Lyndsey Nolen of Horton; and Laura Robertson of Arab.
  • Huntingdon College – Lindsey Oxley of Helena.
  • Jacksonville State University – Kailey Marie Anello of Crossville; Warren Brylee Argy of Boaz; Bret L. Armstrong of Geraldine; Payton Sarah Bannister of Boaz; Angela Barajas of Boaz; Amie M. Benjamin of Albertville; Victoria S. Bentley of Guntersville; Zackary C. Billups of Boaz; Kayleigh S. Briscoe of Douglas; Elizabeth Marie Buchanan of Attalla; Shelly Butler of Boaz; Avery C. Byars of Geraldine; Laura-Lin Chaffin of Madison; Kayla F. Chandler of Boaz; Ashton Kathryn Downey of Southside; Grace C. Duke of Boaz; Emily Epperson of Albertville; Viridiana Frias-Villalobos of Horton; Jordyn F. Garmon of Boaz; Adrienne Elizabeth Gibson of Dawson; John Joseph Hartsfield of Birmingham; Kaytlen D. Helms of Scottsboro; Sarah L. Huff of Attalla; Jackson Hulgan of Albertville; Chloe Johnson of Geraldine; Caleigh J. Kitchens of Albertville; Cleveland Lang of Guntersville; Desiree Rose Lepez of Albertville; Levi P. Maness of Dawson; Kody R. Martinez of Boaz; Alicia Mateo of Albertville; Caitlin H. Morgan of Boaz; Justin Garrett Murphy of Crossville; Autumn Jade Patterson of Boaz; Natalie Kate Patterson of Albertville; Mary K. Patton of Collinsville; Casi E. Phillips of Altoona; Logan L. Politakis of Crossville; Mackenzie E. Pope of Crossville; Kayleigh M. Powell of Geraldine; Kelli R. Rusk of Crossville; Amberly K. Sampson of Crossville; Leslie Santiago of Albertville; Tiffani Paige Schwaiger of Cullman; Madison N. Self of Boaz; Meliena D. Slaton of Albertville; Victoria Christine Smith of Boaz; Emily Starnes of Albertville; Hailey Alexandria Taylor of Boaz; Kassie A. Tillbrook of Boaz; Jacob A. Waits of Albertville; Olivia S. Wherry of Albertville; and Abby J. Williams of Crossville.
  • Mississippi State University – Kaitlyn Williams of Boaz.
  • Tuskegee University – Tamia Willingham-King of Decatur.
  • University of Alabama – Mary J. Adams of Albertville; Oscar Lucas Altamirano of GuntersvilleKailey Marie Anello of Crossville; Anna G. Eubanks of Altoona; Drew K. Guffey of Hoover; Allie Jett of Fort Payne; Carlee S. Landers of Albertville; Michaela L. McGuire of Attalla; Caleigh J. Morrow of Arab; Kayleigh M. Powell of Guntersville; Jacob A. Rich of Hoover; Kelli Rebekah Rusk of Crossville; Madison N. Self of Boaz; Madeline B. Shaver of Grant; Collin M. Stone of Albertville; Layton B. ThrasherBoaz ; and Connor E. Todd of Albertville.
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham – Allie Clackley of Albertville; Angela Barajas-Salcido of Boaz; Caleb Floyd of Birmingham; Marlei Murray of Northport; Oscar Altamirano of Guntersville; Mary Kathryn Hunt of Boaz; Sara Coe of Albertville; John Hartsfield of Birmingham; Amber Crosby of Altoona; Leslie Santiago of Albertville; Abby Williams of Crossville; Cassie Norris of Grove Oak; Mary Katherine Patton of Collinsville; Kayleigh Powell of Guntersville; Meagan Moore of Albertville; and Jacob Rich of Hoover.
  • University of Alabama in Huntsville – Edith Ayala-Villacorta of Albertville; Johnathan Berrey of Arab; Macie Breighner of Crossville; Taylor Brock of Boaz; Samantha Brown of Boaz; Allie Clackley of Albertville; Sara Coe of Albertville; Tyler Dobbins of Boaz; Jessica Griffith of Centre; Judson Lackey of Boaz; Jeremy Mitchell of Oneonta; Meagan Moore of Albertville; Cassie Norris of Grove Oak; Victoria Patterson of Athens; Dali Phillips of Boaz; Tyler Pike of Decatur; Mackenzie Pope of Crossville; Kayleigh Powell of Guntersville; Adam Pruitt of Attalla; Jameson Reynolds of Arab; Jacob Rich of Hoover; Erika Roman of Hartselle; Tiffani Schwaiger of Cullman; Emma Summerlin of Guntersville; Hailey Taylor of Boaz; Jaila Thomas of Collinsville; Kassie Tillbrook of Boaz; and Abby Williams of Crossville.
In addition to the individual student awards, the College recognized student organizations such as Phi Beta Lambda and the student Ambassadors for their work during the academic year. The Ambassadors were selected as Club of the Year by the Student Government Association.

Back to News Listing